A Futile and Stupid Gesture

A Futile and Stupid Gesture (2018)

If You Don't Watch This Movie, We'll Kill Will Forte.

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Release Date: 2018-01-24
  • User Rating: 6.7/10 from 93 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 41min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Abominable Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: David Wain
star 6.7/10
From 93 Ratings


The National Lampoon name became globally recognized after the monumental success of Animal House—but before the glory days, it was a scrappy yet divinely subversive magazine and radio show that introduced the world to comedic geniuses like Bill Murray, Chevy Chase, John Belushi, and Gilda Radner. The driving force behind National Lampoon was Doug Kenney (Will Forte), and his truly wild and crazy story unfolds in A Futile and Stupid Gesture from Harvard to Hollywood to Caddyshack and beyond.

A Futile and Stupid Gesture Trailer

  • Will Forte

    as Douglas Kenney
  • Domhnall Gleeson

    as Henry Beard
  • Martin Mull

    as 'Modern' Douglas Kenney
  • Thomas Lennon

    as Michael O'Donoghue
  • Joel McHale

    as Chevy Chase
  • John Gemberling

    as John Belushi
  • Matt Walsh

    as Matty Simmons
  • Rick Glassman

    as Harold Ramis
  • Jon Daly

    as Bill Murray
  • Seth Green

    as Christopher Guest
  • Matt Lucas

    as Tony Hendra
  • Paul Scheer

    as Paul Shaffer
  • Lonny Ross

    as Ivan Reitman
  • Neil Casey

    as Brian McConnachie
  • Armen Weitzman

    as Lorne Michaels
  • Jackie Tohn

    as Gilda Radner
  • Natasha Lyonne

    as Anne Beatts
  • Emmy Rossum

    as Kathryn Walker
  • Camille Guaty

    as Alex Garcia-Mata
  • Elvy Yost

    as Mary Martello
  • Meera Rohit Kumbhani

    as Elaine
  • Liz Femi

    as Skeptic
  • Brian Huskey

    as John Landis
  • Harry Groener

    as Harry Kenney
  • Annette O'Toole

    as Stephanie Kenney
  • Jeremey Penn

    as Daniel Kenney
  • Joe Lo Truglio

    as Brad
  • Jake Jacobson

    as Ted Knight
  • Erv Dahl

    as Rodney Dangerfield
  • Jack Andrew Cook

    as Dan Aykroyd
  • Andrew Gray McDonnell

    as Danny Noonan
  • Lindsey Kraft

    as Gwyneth Cravens
  • Martha Smith

    as Tour Guide
  • Lauryn Morse

    as Cheerleader Captain
  • Ben F. Campbell

    as Jester Guy
  • James Bearb

    as Doug Niedermeyer
  • Vivienne Taylor

    as Toga Waitress
  • Sean Leo

    as Boyscout
  • Bob Stephenson

    as Construction Worker
  • Garrett Boyd

    as Young Omega Chip Diller
  • Jon Klaft

    as Preppy
  • Paige Flannery

    as Stoned College Kid
  • Sandra Rosko

    as Stoner College Kid
  • Tim Seitter

    as Kroger
  • Gina Greschner

    as Dancer
  • Kerri Kenney-Silver

    as Sullivan Producer
  • Gregg Turkington

    as Advertiser
  • Steven Sims

    as Dorfman
  • Allyson Nicole Jones

    as Student
  • Bambadjan Bamba

    as Taxi Driver
  • Beau Bassewitz

    as Umpire
  • Christopher Arminio

    as National Lampoon Staffer
  • Abigail Klein

    as Missy
  • Christina Miller

    as Funeral Guest
  • T.C. Daniels

    as Brian Doyle Murray
  • Dallas Ryan

    as Sound Guy
  • David Sampen

    as Caddyshack Film Crew
  • Ed Helms

    as Tom Snyder
  • Paul Rudd

    as "The Nobody"
  • Rich Sommer

    as Harry Crane
  • David Krumholtz

    as Time-Life Publisher
  • Mitchell Hurwitz

    as Time-Life Publisher
  • David Wain

    as Interviewer
  • Finn Wittrock

    as Tim Matheson
  • Max Greenfield

    as Chris Miller
  • Frank Gingerich

    as Doug - Age 12
  • Morgan Gingerich

    as Doug - Age 12
  • Carla Gallo

    as Lucy Fisher
  • Brad Morris

    as Peter Ivers
  • Rick Overton

    as First Publisher
  • Mark Metcalf

    as Second Publisher
  • Michael Sherman

    as Ed Sullivan
  • Krister Johnson

    as Michael Gross
  • Nelson Franklin

    as P.J. O'Rourke
Directing David Wain Director
Writing John Aboud Screenplay
Writing Michael Colton Screenplay
Writing Josh Karp Book
Production Ed Helms Executive Producer
Production John Aboud Executive Producer
Production Michael Colton Executive Producer
Production Peter Principato Producer
Production David Wain Executive Producer
Production Edward H. Hamm Jr. Executive Producer
Production Sean McKittrick Executive Producer
Production Ben Ormand Executive Producer
Production Jonathan Stern Producer
Art Austin Gorg Art Direction
Art Jonah Markowitz Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Debra McGuire Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Lindsay Garrison Makeup Department Head
Production Allison Jones Casting
Camera Kevin Atkinson Director of Photography