Shrek (2001)

The greatest fairy tale never told.

  • Genre: Adventure, Animation, Comedy, Family, Fantasy
  • Release Date: 2001-05-16
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 5213 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 30min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: DreamWorks SKG
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Directors: Andrew Adamson, Vicky Jenson.
star 7.4/10
From 5,213 Ratings


It ain't easy bein' green -- especially if you're a likable (albeit smelly) ogre named Shrek. On a mission to retrieve a gorgeous princess from the clutches of a fire-breathing dragon, Shrek teams up with an unlikely compatriot -- a wisecracking donkey.

Shrek Trailer

  • Mike Myers

    as Shrek (voice)
  • Eddie Murphy

    as Donkey (voice)
  • Cameron Diaz

    as Princess Fiona (voice)
  • John Lithgow

    as Lord Farquaad (voice)
  • Vincent Cassel

    as Monsieur Hood (voice)
  • Peter Dennis

    as Ogre Hunter (voice)
  • Clive Pearse

    as Ogre Hunter (voice)
  • Jim Cummings

    as Captain of Guards (voice)
  • Bobby Block

    as Baby Bear (voice)
  • Chris Miller

    as Geppetto / Magic Mirror (voice)
  • Cody Cameron

    as Pinocchio / Three Pigs (voice)
  • Kathleen Freeman

    as Old Woman (voice)
  • Conrad Vernon

    as Gingerbread Man (voice)
  • Christopher Knights

    as Blind Mouse / Thelonious (voice)
  • Simon J. Smith

    as Blind Mouse (voice)
  • Jacquie Barnbrook

    as Wrestling Fan (voice)
  • Guillaume Aretos

    as Merry Man (voice)
  • John Bisom

    as Merry Man (voice)
  • Calvin Remsberg

    as Merry Man (voice)
  • Jean-Paul Vignon

    as Merry Man (voice)
  • Val Bettin

    as Bishop (voice)
  • Andrew Adamson

    as Duloc Mascot (voice) (uncredited)
  • Patty Cornell

    as Clockwork Chorus (uncredited)
  • Charles Dennis

    as Villager (uncredited)
  • Mehmet Ali Erbil

    as Esek (voice) (uncredited)
  • Susan Fitzer

    as Clockwork Chorus (uncredited)
  • Elisa Gabrielli

    as Additional Voices (voice) (uncredited)
  • Gary A. Hecker

    as Dragon Vocals (uncredited)
  • Frank Welker

    as Dragon / Animals' Vocal Effects (voice) (uncredited)
Directing Andrew Adamson Director
Directing Vicky Jenson Director
Writing William Steig Novel
Writing Ted Elliott Author
Writing Terry Rossio Author
Writing Joe Stillman Author
Writing Roger S.H. Schulman Author
Production Jeffrey Katzenberg Producer
Production Aron Warner Producer
Production Penney Finkelman Cox Executive Producer
Production Sandra Rabins Executive Producer
Sound Harry Gregson-Williams Original Music Composer
Sound John Powell Original Music Composer
Editing Sim Evan-Jones Editor
Production Leslee Feldman Casting
Art James Hegedus Production Design
Art Guillaume Aretos Art Direction
Art Douglas Rogers Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Isis Mussenden Costume Design
Production John H. Williams Producer
Production Ted Elliott Co-Producer
Production Terry Rossio Co-Producer
Production Luc Desmarchelier Production Accountant
Production Bill Perkins Other
Production Barry E. Jackson Other
Production Jane Hartwell Associate Producer
Production David Lipman Co-Executive Producer
Production Steven Spielberg Executive Producer
Crew Cody Cameron Additional Dialogue
Crew Chris Miller Additional Dialogue
Crew Conrad Vernon Additional Dialogue
Crew Hans Zimmer Thanks
Crew Jennifer Rubin Thanks
Crew Brad Lewis Thanks
Crew Alan Myerson Thanks
Crew Michael Kahn Thanks
Production Christi Soper Casting Associate
Editing Terry Claborn Color Timer
Visual Effects Ken Bielenberg Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Mark Edwards Visual Effects
Visual Effects Bob Whitehill Visual Effects
Crew James Beshears Post-Production Manager
Art Mary Locatell Production Illustrator
Art Tom Hester Sculptor
Art Craig Edelblut Set Designer
Crew James McKee Smith Additional Music
Crew Matthew Goodman Post Production Supervisor
Crew Gary L. Wohlleben Production Controller
Crew Rennie Cowan Projection
Crew Michael Andrews Second Film Editor
Crew Philippe Gluckman Sequence Supervisor
Crew Craig Heath Sound Recordist
Crew Raman Hui Supervising Animator
Crew Michael Cutler Systems Administrators & Support
Directing Denise Nolan Cascino Layout
Editing Nicole Serrano Sewell Editorial Coordinator
Editing Michelle Belforte First Assistant Editor
Lighting Matthieu Grospiron Lighting Artist
Production Audra Koklys Production Coordinator
Production Triva von Klark Production Manager
Production Kathleen Kelly Production Supervisor
Sound Robert Batha First Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Brian Richards Music Editor
Sound Marylata Elton Music Supervisor
Sound John Bell Orchestrator
Sound Scott Martin Gershin Sound Effects Editor
Sound Eric Valetine Sound Mixer
Sound Lon Bender Supervising Sound Editor
Visual Effects Frank Richards I/O Supervisor
Visual Effects Bill Kaufmann Visual Development
Writing Hank Mayo Storyboard
Visual Effects Patty Kaku Modeling
Visual Effects Tim Cheung Animation Director
Crew Mitchell Amino Supervising Technical Director
Editing Mo Henry Negative Cutter
Sound Chris Jargo ADR Supervisor
Sound David Stanke Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Gavin Greenaway Conductor
Sound Valerie Davidson Foley Editor
Sound Peter DiStefano Musician
Visual Effects Tom Hester Character Designer
Visual Effects Clark Harding Roto Supervisor
Visual Effects Christian Quickle Stereoscopic Coordinator