USS Indianapolis: Men of Courage

USS Indianapolis: Men of Courage (2016)

1196 men aboard, 5 days in water, 317 survived

  • Genre: Action, War
  • Release Date: 2016-09-22
  • User Rating: 5.9/10 from 207 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 8min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Union Patriot Capital Management
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Mario Van Peebles
star 5.9/10
From 207 Ratings


The harrowing true story of the crew of the USS Indianapolis, who were stranded in the Philippine Sea for five days after delivering the atomic weapons that would eventually end WWII. As they awaited rescue, they endured extreme thirst, hunger, and relentless shark attacks.

USS Indianapolis: Men of Courage Trailer

  • Nicolas Cage

    as Captain McVay
  • Tom Sizemore

    as McWhorter
  • Matt Lanter

    as Bama
  • Thomas Jane

    as Chuck Gwinn
  • Emily Tennant

    as Clara
  • Callard Harris

    as Lt. Standish
  • Brian Presley

    as Waxman
  • Patrice Cols

    as Jean-Pierre
  • Craig Tate

    as Garrison
  • Shamar Sanders

    as Quinn
  • Yutaka Takeuchi

    as Commander Hashimoto
  • Cody Walker

    as West
  • Adam Scott Miller

    as D'Antonio
  • James Remar

    as Admiral Parnell
  • Max Ryan

    as Lt. Chuck Gwinn
  • Currie Graham

    as Captain Ryan
  • José Julián

    as Sanchez
  • Weronika Rosati

    as Louise Mcvay
  • Gary Grubbs

    as Judge Bazemore
  • Emily Marie Palmer

    as Donna
  • Mattie Liptak

    as Paul
  • Johnny Wactor

    as Connor
  • Mandela Van Peebles

    as Throdore
  • Joey Capone

    as Alvin
  • Matthew Pearson

    as Deuce
  • Timothy Patrick Cavanaugh

    as Cdr. Cavanaugh
  • Casey Myers

    as Fireplug
  • Justin Nesbitt

    as Lindy
  • Kenta William Tomeoki

    as Daisuke
  • Zero Kazama

    as Nakadai
  • Judd Lormand

    as Lt. Carroll
  • Jacob McManus

    as Billingsly
  • Jaime Channing

    as Reporter #1
  • Edward J. Delmore III

    as Radio Operator #1
  • Jerod Daniel Perez

    as Listening Sailor
  • Stan Houston

    as Man #1
  • Brian Matney

    as Man #2
  • Kirk Jordan

    as Man #3
  • Charles Wiedman

    as Man #4
  • Patrick O'Driscoll

    as Man #5
  • Ladson Deyne

    as Submarine Commander
  • Bill Riales

    as Judge
  • Joshua P. Dease

    as Reporter #1
  • Michael Brannon

    as Reporter #2
  • Zachary James Rukavina

    as Sailor #1
  • Marley Van Peebles

    as Sailor #2
  • Pete Riehm

    as Admiral Neyland
  • Jason Rice

    as Peleliu Officer
  • Rebecca N. Pena

    as Cigarette Girl
  • Charity Sills

    as Lady of the Night
  • Steven Varnes

    as Slim
  • Sasha Feldman

    as Hollis
  • Shane Patrick Cavanaugh

    as Crewman #1
  • Jon Arthur

    as Marine
  • Andrew S. Atkinson

    as USSI Lieutenant / Survivor
  • Mark Baynard Baggs

    as Bar Patron / Dinner Guest
  • Victoria Blackmon

    as Nurse
  • Jesse Byron

    as Crewmember
  • Jana Caresse Caton

    as Sailor's Wife
  • Bennett Wayne Dean Sr.

    as Bartender
  • Francis Dobrisky

    as Survivor
  • Xavier DuPriest

    as Turret Radio Operator
  • Justin Ewing

    as Sailor
  • Mark Falvo

    as Sailor
  • Robert Gill

    as Sailor
  • Torrance Goleman

    as Bazemore Kid
  • Chasen Grieshop

    as Photographer
  • Jon Hayden

    as Admiral
  • Christopher Knittel

    as Sailor
  • Cody Lee

    as Sailor
  • Chris Lott

    as Sailor
  • Duane Moseley

    as Sailor
  • Jonathan Neesmith

    as Rescue Sailor #2
  • Diezel Ramos

    as Crewman
  • Joselyne Ridings

    as Upscale Restaurant Patron
  • Eric C. Schmitz

    as Sailor
  • Brad Spiers

    as Sailor
  • Eric Van Dervort

    as Rescue Worker
  • Ronald Wallace

    as Bomb Marine Guard
  • Rick Whiston

    as Engine Room Crew Chief
Directing Mario Van Peebles Director
Writing Cameron Cannon Writer
Writing Richard Rionda Del Castro Writer
Sound Laurent Eyquem Music
Production Richard Rionda Del Castro Producer
Camera Andrzej Sekula Director of Photography
Production Michael Mendelsohn Producer
Editing Robert A. Ferretti Editor
Production Melissa Wulfemeyer-Valenzuela Casting
Art Mark A. Terry Art Direction
Art Adrianne Pettway Art Department Coordinator
Art Joe Lemmon Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Patrick O'Driscoll Costume Design
Directing Melissa Randle Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Rachel Stringfellow Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Annie Pugh Seamstress
Costume & Make-Up Mellisa Johnson Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Lillian McKinney Set Costumer
Camera David Scardina Camera Operator
Camera Thom Valko Steadicam Operator
Camera Pete Romano Underwater Camera
Crew Chris Bailey Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Sean Leigh Hart Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Devyn Reggio Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Don Mccoy Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound David Barbee Sound Effects Editor
Sound Sean Gray Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Lauren Kelley Hair Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Amber Cannon Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Tiffanie Hudson Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Stacy Lockhart Makeup Artist
Crew Peter Cordova Property Master
Crew Angela Frola Property Master
Crew April Livingston Scenic Artist
Crew Walt Conti Animatronic and Prosthetic Effects
Costume & Make-Up Stephanie Durkac Key Costumer